30 Days of Video Games

I’m blatantly stealing this from my friend, the Token Female Gamer, but I’m giving her credit for it, so I guess it’s not all theft and broken hearts.

She found “Gamer, Writer, Cynic“, who apparently has monthly blog projects. May’s project was “30 days of video games“, which sounds absolutely wonderful to me. So, as TFG stole it and modified it, I am also stealing and modifying. You can click through to GWC to see what her original list is like, and do the same for TFG, but here’s the one I’ll be using.

Day 01 – Very first video game
Day 02 – Favorite game franchise
Day 03 – Favorite genre
Day 04 – Your guilty pleasure game
Day 05 – Game character you feel you are most like (or wish you were)
Day 06 – Most annoying character
Day 07 – Favorite game couple
Day 08 – Best soundtrack
Day 09 – Saddest game scene.
Day 09 – Favorite Hand Held Game
Day 10 – Favorite gameplay mechanic
Day 11 – Gaming system of choice
Day 12 – Personally most significant game
Day 12 – A game everyone should play.
Day 13 – A game you’ve played more then 100 hours
Day 14 – Favorite Character Class
Day 14 – Current (or most recent) gaming wallpaper.
Day 15 – Post a screenshot from the game you’re playing right now
Day 16 – Game with the best cut scenes
Day 17 – Favorite antagonist
Day 18 – Favorite protagonist
Day 19 – Least favorite gameplay mechanic
Day 19 – Picture of a game setting you wish you lived in.
Day 20 – PvP or care bear
Day 21 – Game with the best story
Day 22 – A game sequel which disappointed you
Day 23 – Game you think had the best graphics or art style
Day 24 – Favorite classic game.
Day 24 – Turn based or real time
Day 25 – What is in your ‘to be played’ pile
Day 26 – Best voice acting
Day 27 – Most memorable moment (good or bad)
Day 28 – Favorite game developer
Day 29 – A game you thought you wouldn’t like, but ended up loving
Day 30 – Your favorite game of all time

So,  I used TFG’s list as the base, but changed a few things. In my case, it’s mostly adding back in the original element from GWC’s list, because I thought it would be interesting to write about as well.

Day 09 – Saddest Game Scene/Favorite Handheld Game – I can understand the use of tragedy in games, so I’ll leave that in here. I will prolly have to think about it for a while, but there have been a few games with so-called “tear-jerker” scenes that left me ready to get  vengeance for my fallen comrade(s). I also LOVE handheld gaming, so there you go.

Day 14 – Favorite Character Class/Current Gaming Wallpaper – I have played so many class-based games over the course of my gaming career that I can’t pass this one up at all. I don’t have tattoos (yet) and therefore my outward display of my gaming culture is via T-shirt and desktop wallpaper.

Day 19 – Least Favorite Gameplay Mechanic/Picture of a game setting you wish you lived in. – First one is a great question and needs to be answered for posterity, second is legit as well. Often I feel out of place in our “adventure-less” social world, sometimes it would be nice to fight the monsters, win the girl and buy a castle in the clouds with 12 million rupees. Plus, once you win, it’s nice and safe, and usually there’s magic!

Day 24 – Favorite Classic Game/Turn Based or Real Time – The idea of a “Classic Game” is kinda funny, because which gaming era are we talking about? pre-dos games, dos games, windows games, nes, etc.. I’m gonna go with the pre-dos – NES games as “classic”. Oh strategy, you cruel mistress. We’ll talk about who’s got the better backside, and who knows how to shake it, RTS or turn-based.

And thats it. I’ll get started on these tomorrow.

Tune in next week, same bat-time, same bat-channel
I’m still working on that closing line…

2 responses to “30 Days of Video Games

Leave a Reply

