Day 05 – Game character you feel you are most like (or wish you were)

There are so many great video characters out there. I’m going to go with the one that I feel that I am most like, because “wish you were” is sort of a cop-out in my humble opinion. Everyone wishes they were better, could do different things, had magical powers or could cut a building in half with a butter knife. The much more telling, and difficult choice is “Which hero/villain/supporting character are you?”

We could look at this from a number of perspectives. Physically, I’m tall, broad-shouldered, olive complexion, dark hair, and fairly well muscled. I could be this guy

Ezio Auditore

Ezio Auditore from Assassin’s Creed II

I could be ok with that. Especially when he becomes all bad-ass and dons the assassin garb. Which reminds me, I need to finish playing AC2. I am so far behind on that series. But I’m tangenting…
Physically, I could be a match for our pal Ezio here, but I dont know that I’m really the european playboy turned assassin type.

So lets look at Personality. I’m a pretty friendly guy. A little shy at times, but overall happy, easy-going and loyal. I could be this guy:

Luigi

Luigi from the Mario Brothers Franchise

Man, talk about loyal. Luigi doesn’t even get his name on the title of the game (except Luigi’s mansion, which he clearly can afford since he’s not always off looking for another “star fix” like his fat brother) and yet he’s always there. Waiting in the wings to be player 2. Screw that. I’m no player 2, I’m player ONE. Sorry Luigi, as chill as you are, I can’t relegate myself to being a side character.

Well, we have covered body, mind, which leaves us with spirit. It’s the courage and tenacity of the hero that really makes us want to be a part of what he’s sent to do. I’m trying really hard not to put Legend of Zelda into every post, since it is clearly my favorite game and link my favorite hero. But damn if he isn’t just the personification of courage and tenacity. So, even though I tried not to, I’ve got link up here again.

Link

Link from The Legend of Zelda franchise

He’s a young kid that’s told he’s the only one that can save the world. That’s a lot of weight to put on a little dude’s shoulders. But he goes off on his own (or with a  friend, depending on the game) and proceeds to cut all the grass, break all the pots, turn over every stone, (and kill some bad guys) until he’s powerful enough to fight the ultimate evil in the world, and using his courage and tenacity, defeat it. He’s the man. Yeah, he’s got a big boy version too.

Adult Link

Adult Link, Wind Waker style by: shaneandhisdog

But really, that doesn’t answer the question. Who do I feel I am most like? It’s still a very difficult decision, especially for me since I’ve spent the last 8-9 years playing MMOs. I could list off a ton of my personal characters and the choices that they’ve made that are just like how I play things. Even with the non-mmo games I’ve been playing recently, the characters are still modeled the way I want them to be, and make the decisions that I want them to make. My ending of Bioshock was the nice one, because I saved all the Little Sisters. But maybe you had the Angry one, or the sad one, because you killed those poor little girls. Who knows. Even with all of that, I’m gonna go with a character that isn’t necessarily the same for every player on every play through.

 

John Shepard

John Shepard from the Mass Effect series

That’s right. John Shepard (Even though in my playthrough it was Victoria Shepard, and she was much cuter) he’s the man. Up against impossible odds, just trying to prevent the mindless sheep that are the galactic council and their constituents from being destroyed. No one listens to him, he’s basically on his own to stop this menace. Yes, he has some friends, but seriously, other than the handful of people he finds (And has to earn their loyalty) no one listens to the guy. Anyway, he’s strong, fits the bill physically, and has more courage in his pinky toe nail than whiny little bitch heroes like this guy:

Final Fantasy X Tidus crying

Final Fantasy X Tidus being a little bitch

 

So thats’ that. Mass Effect’s John Shepard == Me. Oh yeah. I guess with this decision/revelation, I should buy and play Mass Effect 3…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

