Day 07 – Favorite game couple

Romance in video games is so prevalent, especially in games with any kind of story.  Especially in the action-adventure games where your solitary goal is to save the princess. That brings up visions of Mario and Princess Peach, Link and Zelda, just about any Final Fantasy game ever. But I’m gonna try to stay away from the old favorites, because it’s just too easy. I mentioned in a previous post that I could just write about Legend of Zelda in almost every day of this “30 days” series, and am trying really hard not to do that.

I had a favorite couple in mind, and went to do some research on other game couples. There’s a few that seem universally adored. Couples that I’m just not aware of. Eddie and Ophelia from Brutal Legend. Never played it, but it didn’t seem like the kind of game that would have a romantic couple in it. Might be worth looking into.  Jackie and Jenny from The Darkness. I played it, didn’t really like it. It seemed boring to me. Maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance. I may try it again at some point, if I get through my huge backlog of games that I’m already not playing. Dom and Maria from Gears of War. What? Really? Who would have known that there’d be a romance in a game like that? I don’t own an xbox, so this was never really on my radar, but interesting to know that it might actually have some decent story to it. Gordon Freeman and Alyx Vance  from Halflife 2. Uh… I’ve played this game more than just about any other shooter out there. I felt the subtle relationship undertones, but never anything to the level of them being a couple. Course’ I haven’t played HL2 ep2 yet. Maybe it’s in there.  dunno. Ico and Yorda from Ico. This is a game that I’ve been meaning to play for a long, long time. Because of this research, I went out and bought the ICO/Shadows of the Colossus pack for ps3. I very much look forward to discovering the relationship between these two. Going along for the ride are Wander and Mono, in Shadow of the Colussus. Another game I’ve been meaning to play since I saw my friend playing it on the PS2. I now own it, and plan to play it soon. Johnny and River from To the Moon. Haven’t played it, but it looks like a cute little RPG/adventure game that’ I’d prolly get if it was on steam. But it’s not. *sadface* But enough about the games that I’m not writing about today… on to the main subject!

Elane Marley and Guybrush Threepwood

Elaine MarleyGuybrush Threepwood

Right now, you might be saying to yourself, “Who?” If you are, that means you probably missed out on the epicness that was (is?) the Lucasarts series of point-and-click adventure games. Monkey Island being the one we’re about to discuss, Maniac Mansion/Day of the Tentacle, LOOM, Sam and Max hit the road, Indiana Jones, etc…

He’s an aspiring pirate with a sharp wit, an overabundance of persistence , but very little courage.  She’s the smart and resourceful governor of the Tri-Island area. She may be the earliest iteration of the “self-rescuing princess” as she seems quite capable of escaping the clutches of the Ghost Pirate LeChuck.

It’s hillarious hijinx all around. Guybrush is a bumbling fool who always ends up ruining Elaine’s well developed plans, but in the end, they work well together and always seem to find a way to overcome the problem. They mesh very well together, Guybrush’s charm and wit with Elaine’s resourcefulness and ambition. They are a great video game couple.

Elaine <3 Guybrush

I thought this was a cute and indicative picture of this video game couple.

If you haven’t ever played these games, you can get them fairly cheap on steam.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

