How do you know when it’s worth writing a blog post?

I’m sitting here, feeling somewhat creative (also bored) and feel like I should be updating this thing. I’m not attempting to mirror my favorite news blogs, otherwise I could post the kajillion cool things I’ve read about today. I’m also not trying to post for the sake of posting, but many writers/bloggers feel the need to post to keep, and grow, their audience.

How do you know when it’s worth writing?

The likely answer is that it’s subjective. Do you have something you want to say? Then say it. Maybe you just feel like ranting, and want to see who agrees or disagrees. Write a post. Maybe, like me, you’re spinning your wheels with what you’re supposed to be doing, so you want to get something done, but don’t really have much to say. Typically, I’d say to just keep it to yourself, but I’m clearly not doing that.

Why am I writing this then? Self-doubt. I’m not doubting my feelings towards those that don’t have anything real to say or how I feel that they should, or more accurately: should not, write unnecessary things just because they can. More so, because I tend to doubt that the things I have to say are relevant or interesting to others. I try to encourage my friends to write about what they know, even if it doesn’t feel exciting to them. If you do a good job, others will appreciate the effort, leave you constructive feedback and everyone is happy all around. I’m trying to practice what I preach in this area, and write anyway.

It feels like rambling at this point, so I’m gonna close it up, but I feel good for having written something, even if it’s only a small grain of wisdom trapped in the sandbox.

2 responses to “How do you know when it’s worth writing a blog post?

  1. I’ve been thinking and feeling more and more that we really never know the things that we do that really end up making a difference in the world to someone else. I agree that it’s quite subjective- and perhaps someone will see this who was wondering what to write or why to write, and they can find their answer! 🙂

  2. Thanks Jennifer. I appreciate your feedback. As you mentioned on your blog, it’s not about the statistics that tell me that people are visiting, it’s about the meaning people get from my writing and how it helps others. Hopefully, as time goes on, more people will come to find meaning in our works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

